Australian Skilled Regional Sponsored Visa (Subclass 489) Basic Requirements

  In order to satisfy labour market shortages, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) has set specific basic requirements for people who are interested  in applying under the Skilled Migration Stream.

To qualify for skilled migration, applicants (or their partner) must be able to  satisfy the basic visa requirements related to age, English language ability, occupation,  skills, qualification, health and character. In addition, applicants for a Skilled Regional Sponsored visa (Subclass 489) must obtain sponsorship from a participating State or Territory government and pass a points test. Points can be claimed in areas  related to age, English language ability, specific work experience, spouse skills and other bonus categories.

The current pass mark for the Skilled Regional Sponsored visa (Subclass 489) is 60 points.

To be sponsored by a relative, an applicant’s relative must live  in a Specified Regional Area of Australia* and be either:

  • an Australian citizen;
  • an Australian permanent resident; or
  • an eligible New Zealand citizen.

The applicant (or their spouse) must be related to their sponsor as either:

  • a non-dependent child – including a natural, adoptive or step-child;
  • a parent – including adoptive or step-parent;
  • a brother or sister – including adoptive or step-siblings;
  • a niece or nephew – including adoptive or step-niece or nephew; or
  • an aunt or uncle – including adoptive or step-aunt or uncle.

*The definition of Specified Regional Area of Australia depends on whether the applicant is sponsored by a relative or nominated by a State or Territory government. As a general indication, the following areas are considered regional:

  • New South Wales – everywhere except Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast and Wollongong;
  • Northern Territory – everywhere;
  • Queensland – everywhere except the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast;
  • South Australia – everywhere;
  • Tasmania – everywhere;
  • Victoria – everywhere except the Melbourne metropolitan area; and
  • Western Australia – everywhere.

To be nominated by a State or Territory government, applicants must satisfy specific criteria, as set by the particular State or Territory. These may include:

  • having an occupation on the skills shortage list in that State or Territory; or
  • demonstrating specialised skills in an area of need.

On 1 July 2012, the skilled migration program switched to a new online system called  “SkillSelect” which will require prospective skilled migrants to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI). Once an EOI is submitted, these details can be viewed by Australian employers, state and territory governments and by the Australian Government who  have the ability to extend an invitation to lodge a visa application.

There is no guarantee that submitting an EOI will result in an invitation to apply   for a visa. If an invitation is received, there will be a prescribed timeframe within  which the visa application must then be formally lodged with DIBP.

457 Visa Occupations in Demand

July 20th, 2016|0 Comments

The 457 visa is a subclass of the temporary work visa that is available to skilled international workers. This visa allows skilled international workers to gain employment with approved businesses for anywhere between 3 months [...]

Hiring from Abroad? Here’s The 101 On Employer Sponsored Visas In Australia

October 19th, 2015|0 Comments

If the success of your business is important to you, you’ll stop at nothing to find the right person for the job. Sometimes the right person is interstate or even overseas. If you’re looking to [...]