Changes to the Australian Skilled Migration Points System  

From November 2019, changes to the Skilled Migration Points test will come into effect and will affect single applicants and applicants with a partner.

As outlined in the federal budget, the points test will be adjusted to reward primary applicants with additional points if they are able to speak competent English, even if they are unable to meet other requirements of the skilled partner points criteria.

Currently, visa applicants can claim additional points if their partner is younger than 45, is competent at speaking English and have a relevant skill or qualification that can be assessed.

These new changes will also benefit individual applicants, with additional points awarded to single applicants so that they are not put at a disadvantage.

How these points will be calculated is not yet confirmed. Once the new system is in place, there will be further information regarding these changes and how it will impact Australian skilled migrants.


What is the Skilled Points Test?

Most applicants applying for Australian visas under the General Skilled Migration (GSM) are required to score a minimum number of points on the Points Test.

Applicants must score a minimum of 60 points if they wish to gain a visa under the GSM programme.

The Points test awards points for:

  1. Age
  2. English Language Ability
  3. Educational Qualifications
  4. Skilled Employment
  5. Australian Study Requirements
  6. Community Language Qualifications
  7. Regional study in Australia
  8. Partner/Spouse Skill Qualifications
  9. Professional Year in Australia
  10. Nominations and Sponsorship (Subclasses 190 and 489 only)


1. Points for Age

To receive the most points for age, the applicant must be aged between 25 to 32 years old (inclusively).

18-24 (inclusive)25 points
25-32 (inclusive)30 points
33-39 (inclusive)25 points
40-44 (inclusive)15 points


2. Points for English Language Ability

For General Skilled Migration visas, the English language requirement will have to be satisfied once you have received an invitation to submit your application.

It can take some time to book a test and receive results, so make sure you plan ahead and take your English test sooner, rather than later.

If you have superior english you will receive 20 points, if you have proficient english you will receive 10 points and competent english will receive 0 points.


3. Points for Skilled Employment

Points will be awarded for employment in a skilled occupation, that has been undertaken in either Australia or overseas.

To claim skilled employment, the experience must be related to your nominated occupation, or in a closely related occupation.

Applicants will be awarded points based upon skilled employment history that has been undertaken in the last 10 years.

If you have at least eight years and up to 10 years experience then you will obtain 20 points. At least five but less than eight years, then you will receive 15 points. If you have at least three but less than five years, then you will receive 10 points. If you have at least one year but less than three years you will receive 5 points.


4. Points for Educational Qualifications

Points are only awarded for an applicant’s highest qualification. If the applicant has a Bachelor’s degree and a diploma, the points will only be awarded for the Bachelor’s degree. In order to claim points, the educational qualifications must relate to the applicant’s nominated occupation and must be comparable to Australian qualifications.

If you have completed a doctorate you will receive 20 points, if you have received a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree you will receive 15 points and if you have a diploma or trade qualification you will receive 10 points.


5. Australian Study Requirements

Applicants will be awarded 5 points if they have completed an Australian qualification from an Australian educational institution and have earned the qualification while they were in Australia. The course must have been at least two years in length.

6. Regional Study

If applicants meet the two-year study requirement (as listed above) while studying in a regional area in Australia, they will be awarded an additional 5 points.


7. Community Language Qualifications

If an applicant have translator/interpreter level language skills they may be able to gain an extra 5 points.


8. Points for Partner Skill Qualifications

If an applicant’s partner is included in the visa application and is not an Australian citizen/resident, then their skills can count toward 5 additional points for the primary applicant.

Spouse/partner meets basic requirements:

  • Age;
  • English Language Ability;
  • A suitable skills assessment (must be relevant to your nominated occupation, or closely related).

As specified earlier, these requirements will be loosened at the end of 2019, so that partners’ can receive more points for their English speaking skills.


9. Points for Professional Year in Australia

Applicants can score an additional 5 points, if they have completed a professional year in Australia, for at least 12 months and in the last four years. The professional year course must have been in your nominated skilled occupation or a closely related skilled occupation.


10. Points for Nomination, or Sponsorship by State or Territory Government (subclass 190 and subclass 489 only)

Applicants that are nominated by the state or territory, or sponsored by an eligible family member can be awarded extra points.

If you need help with your points test, or would like further advice regarding the visa application process, Results Migration are the best in the field and are available to guide you through this complex area of law. Call Results Migration on 1800 808 717 or email us on and book your free consultation today!

By |April 4th, 2019|General news|Comments Off on Changes to the Australian Skilled Migration Points System  

About the Author: